29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 8:37 AM
43
Likes

Any reviews on Make Room for Truman in Park Ridge? Is it completely different from Houlihans? I've heard it's the same owner but rebranded. Not sure if that's accurate.

37 Comments:

29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 8:41 AM

Yes. It’s a new concept for a restaurant within the Houlihan’s chain. It’s the first of its kind. Excellent food and service!

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 8:42 AM

Both food and service was great.

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 8:45 AM

What kind of concept?

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 8:45 AM

Following

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 8:53 AM

It's really good! Totally different from Houlihan's. Almost like upscale comfort food? Everything is slow cooked and delicous!

2 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 8:58 AM

We were so looking forward to trying it, but unfortunately were not impressed and won’t be back. Service was ok, manager who checked on us was very nice but the food (at least what we ordered) was not great.

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 9:07 AM

We had a great meal and thought the prices were reasonable. Will definitely be back!

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 9:08 AM

It’s a farm to table concept. The smoked meats are delicious. We rarely order dessert but ordered The Truman and it was fantastic. We had a great experience there and will definitely go back.

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 9:09 AM

It’s great. My 4yo loved his food. I thought is was great food and great service. I also didn’t think it was to expensive. My son got an ice cream after his meal and he’s never finished all his ice cream (not a big fan) but he looooved it from make way for Truman.

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 9:11 AM

It’s so amazing - everything we had was delicious and the service was great.

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 9:12 AM

Thought it much better than Houlihans. Interesting food and really yummy.

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 9:23 AM

I liked the menu much better when it was Houlihans. Service was very friendly as was the case before the rebrand so no surprise there. I liked Houilhans and found myself eating there about once a month. My food at Truman’s was good but the menu didn’t have much that excited me. I don’t foresee ever going back, which is too bad because I do very much enjoy the staff there.

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 9:33 AM

The porketta was delicious but the fat wasn’t rendered enough nor was it crispy. The steak was tough, not cut against the grain so tougher but it was cooked nicely.

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 10:23 AM

We have gone 3 times and have liked it very much. I ordered the filet the first two times with the poblano au gratin potatoes. And the 3rd time we went I got the chicken and some creamed corn. I liked everything I got. My boyfriends dad got the ribs and we did not like those. The shrimp were great. And the tater tots were awesome. Also the Truman dessert was really good

0 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 10:53 AM

We went with a group of 5 on a Wednesday night. Our service was phenomenal. The staff was very friendly and authentic. We order a few things to nibble on family style. Blue cheese chips, artichoke dip spicy shrimp, and a plate of ribs. It was all amazing. The thing is every sauce is made in house, From ketchup to hot fudge etc. it reminds me of the upscale diners in Napa. Food and decor wise

1 Likes
29 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 11:02 AM

I have been there several times and really like it. I had good chicken, pasta, apps, and dessert. You need a reservation if you want to get seated right away.

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 12:43 PM

I did like the Bavette steak with chimchurri and giant tots.

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 1:09 PM

Hi Chris. I was there a few weeks ago. It was good. I agree that the Bavette steak is the way to go. Neoma had the Zito, that too was good. We were there on a Sunday night and glad we had reservations.

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 1:26 PM

We tried it for the first time yesterday and it was great. The servers are so nice. My husband is a meat & potatoes guy and I’m a vegetarian and we were both happy.

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 1:56 PM

I can't wait to go back. the food was excellent (we definitely sampled a little bit of everything) and the people were even better!

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 2:28 PM

We really like it! Great addition to PR! Food is very good, and the service was excellent both times we went.

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 2:46 PM

We made reservations and they asked if we were celebrating anything. When we arrived they gave me a card for a free dessert. Our table ordered three appetizers and we all got something different. When one of us inquired about ingredients they asked if there were any dietary restrictions and then said they would note it on our order so there wouldn’t be any problems. Everything was fresh, service was attentive. Liked it all except the ketchup. I’m a Heinz fan. We’ll go back.

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 2:49 PM

We went to the soft opening and had a good experience. We sampled quite a bit due to the fixed menu and all was delicious. Slow cooked so expect it to be a very leisurely evening.

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 3:14 PM

Very very good

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 3:21 PM

Wanted very much to like it. Service was very spotty on a Saturday night - plates left on table, etc. Salmon entree had a large bone in it and over cooked. May try again in a few months after the kinks are out

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 4:12 PM

We thought it was ok and expensive for just ok. We have not been back. Staff was very friendly though.

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 4:17 PM

We went last night and absolutely love it!

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 4:24 PM

I went to the opening, so very limited menu, but loved what I had. Need to try more, but a HUGE step above Houlihans.

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 5:00 PM

We went last Sunday. Our server was fantastic! She knew the menu and helped us with suggestions. Everything was cooked perfectly! 👍🏻👍🏻 for me!

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 5:13 PM

We had an amazing dinner there but we’re disappointed that “Truman” wasn’t the desert grande finale. Something to consider 🎂🍪🍨

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 6:09 PM

Loved it both times we were there. Food amazing, excellent service— wanna hear about who I was with? Lol We’ll be back!

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 7:01 PM

See my review from Friday nite with hubby on yelp.

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 8:43 PM

My hubby have gone there 2x kid free and enjoyed the shrimp cocktail, ribs and steak. Highly recommend and the BEST part is the valet bc I hate that parking lot!

1 Likes
28 days ago on 11/18/2018 at 10:16 PM

We went last week. It was really outstanding! 2 of us had the ribs, hubby had a prime rib with a Cajun char rub, friend had a filet. We all loved our meals! Our waitress was excellent. Wine was generous. We will go back a lot!

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/19/2018 at 6:08 AM

AWESOME. Cant wait to go back.

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/19/2018 at 8:27 AM

Food is great. New concept and great vegetarian options. Cauliflower steak rocks! Service is awesome.

0 Likes
28 days ago on 11/19/2018 at 10:22 AM

For those from the city it reminds you of Crosby. Kitchen on Southport. Wish they had a brunch thiugh

0 Likes

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'Exception' with message 'Downloading a remote media file failed.' in /nfs/c08/h06/mnt/121491/domains/parkridgechat.com/html/_codebird.php:1707 Stack trace: #0 /nfs/c08/h06/mnt/121491/domains/parkridgechat.com/html/_codebird.php(1670): Codebird\Codebird->_fetchRemoteFile('https://sconten...') #1 /nfs/c08/h06/mnt/121491/domains/parkridgechat.com/html/_codebird.php(1616): Codebird\Codebird->_buildBinaryBody('https://sconten...') #2 /nfs/c08/h06/mnt/121491/domains/parkridgechat.com/html/_codebird.php(1593): Codebird\Codebird->_checkForFiles('media/upload', 'media', 'https://sconten...') #3 /nfs/c08/h06/mnt/121491/domains/parkridgechat.com/html/_codebird.php(1644): Codebird\Codebird->_getMultipartRequestFromParams('media/upload', '---------------...', Array) #4 /nfs/c08/h06/mnt/121491/domains/parkridgechat.com/html/_codebird.php(1999): Codebird\Codebird->_buildMultipart('media/upload', Array) #5 /nfs/c08/h06/mnt/121491/domains/parkridgechat.com/html/_codebird.php(2117): Codebird\Codebird->_call in /nfs/c08/h06/mnt/121491/domains/parkridgechat.com/html/_codebird.php on line 1707